The Gear Grinds Forward

I’ve been playing Dark Souls III lately. There’s a lot to be said about the game and I hope to visit it critically sometime in the near future, but that’s now what this post is about.

Playing Dark Souls III usually means dying a lot. Trying to progress. Failing. And then repeating the process over and over again until you finally taste sweet sweet victory.

My journey through Lothric has me thinking about this website. Not that anyone would ever have noticed, but Wizard of Radical hasn’t been updated in a good six months.

I’ve tried to write some compelling things in that time. I’ve failed. I’ve burned myself out, hated writing, and eventually found a groove again. In Dark Souls terminology, I’ve hollowed and enkindled myself time and time again.

So, in the most roundabout way possible, what I’m trying to say is that I’ve promised myself I’d start writing on this website again. It might not be the best work I’ve ever done, but I do plan on putting pieces up whenever I have the time.

This might manifest itself in a few different ways. I’ll probably use WoR as a place to write about the stupid video game stories that I think of while I’m showering. Maybe I’ll flesh out things that I’ve pitched but never got commissioned. Maybe I’ll beg some friends to collaborate on stuff. Either way, I think it’s safe to say that this site will be getting some love in the coming months.

Now, on to Dark Souls.

Leave a comment